workmans comp news

State Minimum Wages

STATE   MINIMUM WAGE OVERTIME & OTHER WAGE LAWS
Kansas $2.65 46-hour workweek before time-and-a-half overtime wages apply.
Kentucky $5.85  
Louisiana N/A Federal minimum applies
Maine $6.75 Maine 's minimum wage increases to $7.00 on October 1, 2007.
Maryland $6.15  
Massachusetts $7.50  
Michigan $7.15 For new employees ages 16-19, a $4.25 minimum “training wage” may be paid for the first 90 days of employment
Minnesota $6.15 Small employers (enterprises with annual receipts of less than $625,000) may pay workers a minimum wage of $5.25. 48-hour workweek before overtime time-and-a-half wages.
Mississippi N/A Federal minimum wage and overtime standards are used by Mississippi .
Missouri $6.50 Employees of a Missouri retail or service business with gross annual sales less than $500,000 are exempt from minimum wage.
Montana $6.15 $4 minimum wage for Montana businesses with $110,000 or less in annual sales.
Nebraska $5.15  
Nevada $6.33 Nevada employers providing recognized health care plans may pay a lower minimum wage rate.
New Hampshire $5.85 New Hampshire increases state minimum wage to $6.50 on September 1, 2007.
New Jersey $7.15  
New Mexico $5.15 New Mexico minimum wage increases to $6.50 on January 1, 2008. The City of Santa Fe has minimum wage of $9.50.
New York $7.15  
North Carolina $6.15  
North Dakota $5.15  
Ohio $6.85  
Oklahoma $5.15 Oklahoma allows a minimum of $2.00 for work not covered by federal minimum wage.
Oregon $7.80  
Pennsylvania $7.15 For Pennsylvania companies of 10 or fewer employees, $6.65 is the minimum wage, increasing to $7.15 by July 1, 2008.
Rhode Island $7.40 Rhode Island requires time-and-a-half overtime pay for work on Sundays and holidays in retail and certain other businesses.
South Carolina N/A  
South Dakota $5.15  
Tennessee N/A Tennessee uses the federal minimum wage standards.
Texas $5.15  
Utah $5.15  
Vermont $7.53 Vermont 's minimum exempts many employers, such as retail and service; seasonal recreation; hotels, motels, restaurants; and transportation workers.
Virginia $5.15  
Washington $7.93  
West Virginia $6.55  
Wisconsin $6.50  
Wyoming $5.15  

Back to Alabama-Iowa

Read the newsletter on wage and hour laws for overtime payments.

 

Lawyers for Change.
If your employer is withholding your overtime pay or is paying you less than your proper minimum wage, contact the Consumer Justice Group . We have employment lawyers across the country winning our clients the awards they deserved.

 

The Workers' Rights News is a service of the Consumer Justice Group.

free consultation, 615-579-5805
 
Hurt at work?  Act now - timing is crucial.
 
free consultation

This page is an advertisement of the Consumer Justice Group, LLC. The opinions expressed herein are those of the Consumer Justice Group. The Group is a Washington, DC law firm. This website is not a solicitation for business in any other jurisdiction. The laws of the District of Columbia apply to this website. The information contained herein is not legal advice. All trademarks and copyrights are those of their respective owners.